Zachary Green, CPhT, Recognized for Work To Advance Pharmacy Technician Education

August 14, 2020

Zachary Green, CPhT, PTCB Associate Director of Partnership Development, has been awarded the Pharmacy Technician Educators Council (PTEC) Phil Naut Award for his contributions to advancing the education of pharmacy technicians. He received his award at the 2020 PTEC Virtual Annual Conference on July 25.

The Phil Naut award recognizes a PTEC associate member who demonstrates a significant contribution to the education of pharmacy technicians, has shown a commitment to pharmacy technicians through active involvement in PTEC activities, and has presented at the PTEC Annual Meeting.

Green led the expansion of the PTCB Employer Program, and, in 2019, implemented PTCB’s process for recognizing education/training programs that meet curriculum content requirements for preparation for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE). He develops PTCB tools and services for educators and maintains relationships to advance technician education programs and medication safety.

“As the profession evolves, the demand for pharmacy technicians to perform a variety of critical tasks will continue to expand. Advancing education to support this evolution is a necessary component of creating a qualified technician workforce,” said Green. “In my role at PTCB, I continually gain inspiration from the many passionate educators who are committed to advancing safety, including all those represented by PTEC. I am truly honored to receive the Phil Naut Award.”

“We’re excited that Zack has been recognized by PTEC for his long-standing leadership and commitment to the education of pharmacy technicians,” said Liza Chapman, PharmD, FAPhA, PTCB Vice President of Partnership Development. “His work in developing and expanding PTCB’s program to recognize education/training programs and his active involvement in PTEC demonstrate Zack’s ongoing dedication to ensuring pharmacy technicians continue to attain high levels of knowledge and skill to bring to their critical work to advance patient safety.”