Why Choose PTCB?

We lead. PTCB is the nation’s leading certifying body for pharmacy technicians, and offers the only nationally accepted pharmacy technician certification program.

We specialize in pharmacy technicians, focusing solely on certifying pharmacy technicians (no other professionals) and supporting them as they maintain their credentials.

We are guided by the pharmacy profession and we respond by setting the standard for technician certification that improves medication safety and patient care.

We collaborate along side State Boards of Pharmacy to address certification qualifications and related education and training requirements.

We are informed by research, conducting regular studies to evaluate the PTCB Program and strengthen its value.

We listen to patients. A public perception survey in 2016 showed that 94% of consumers say their trust in pharmacy would increase with standardized certification; and 85% of consumers say certification is very important.

We are portable. PTCB Certification goes with technicians everywhere they go, is accepted in all 50 states, DC, Guam, and Puerto Rico, and prepares technicians for work in any pharmacy setting.

We are nonprofit, and the only nonprofit pharmacy technician certification body.

We are the most trusted, with more than 21 years of experience, we have granted more than 615,000 certifications. Eight out of 10 CPhTs come back to PTCB to renew their credential.

We were the first national pharmacy technician certification program in the US, founded in 1995. We became nationally accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) in 2006, the first to achieve this milestone.

We have nothing to hide. The PTCE is a challenging exam, and we are open about that. We publish extensive detail about our Certification Program, far more than any other program.

PTCB chooses excellence.

Download Full Report (PDF)

2017–2018 Board of Governors

Larry Wagenknecht, RPh, Chair
CEO, Michigan Pharmacists Association

Thomas Menighan, BSPharm, MBA, ScD, Vice Chair
Executive Vice President & CEO, American Pharmacists Association

Carmen Catizone, RPh, MS, DPh, Certification Council Chair
Executive Director, National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

Everett B. McAllister, MPA, RPh, Secretary
Executive Director & CEO, Pharmacy Technician Certification Board

Scott Meyers, RPh, MS, FASHP, Treasurer
Executive Director, Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists

Paul Abramowitz, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FASHP, At-Large
Executive Vice President & CEO, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists