PTCB Supports Technician Roles During NABP Annual Meeting

May 25, 2023

Held each year in May, the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy’s (NABP) Annual Meeting brings together member boards and stakeholders from the pharmacy profession, like PTCB, to work together to protect public health. This year, PTCB leadership including CEO & Executive Director William Schimmel, Director of Professional Affairs Ryan Burke, PharmD, Vice President of Partnership Development Liza Chapman, PharmD, FAPhA, and Executive Fellow Joseph Ahenkorah, PharmD attended. 

PTCB had a supporting role in two resolutions that passed during the NABP Annual Meeting–Expanding Pharmacy Technician Seats on State Boards of Pharmacy and Creating an Industry Standard for Pharmacy Technician Scope of Practice and Entry-Level Requirements to Support Interstate Portability. These resolutions will be instrumental in advancing technicians in the pharmacy profession. 

PTCB was proud to see six technicians who serve on boards of pharmacy in attendance including  Keith Binion, MEd CPhT, Julie Lanza, CPhT-Adv, CPST, Cyndi Vipperman, CPhT, Kristen Snair, CPhT, Diane Halvorson, RPhTech, CSPT, CPhT-Adv and Glen Gard, CPhT-Adv, CSPT. 

PTCB CPhTs Kristen Snair and Cyndi Vipperman presented a very popular and engaging poster providing a “Snapshot of Current Pharmacy Technician Practice” that highlighted the representation of technicians on State Boards of Pharmacy and technician registration/licensure requirements across the country.