PTCB Stakeholder Advisory Council Meets in Washington, DC

March 28, 2022

Members of PTCB’s Stakeholder Advisory Council gathered on March 1 in Washington, DC for a day of organizational planning and strategy. This was the second meeting of this group, composed of esteemed employers, educators, regulators and associations, who met previously in a virtual gathering last year. The council advises PTCB on industry initiatives and pharmacy workforce trends that may impact PTCB's mission of advancing medication safety through technician certification. Agenda items included an update on PTCB business from CEO William Schimmel, organizational updates from council members, strategic planning, and other pharmacy-technician-related topics including career ladders, staffing shortages, burnout and more.

Following the meeting, PTCB’s Vice President of Partnership Development Liza Chapman, PharmD, FAPhA, commented, “It was a very productive meeting, and we heard important feedback from those who participated. It was inspiring to hear stories of how these leaders are helping to champion pharmacy technicians and the work they do. The PTCB team walked away with great information and guidance for how to keep our organization moving forward to best support the work of the pharmacy.”




Current members of PTCB’s Stakeholder Advisory Council include:


Boards of Pharmacy

Jennifer Falkenrath, CPhT
Bureau Manager, Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Mark Hardy, PharmD
Executive Director, North Dakota Board of Pharmacy



Eric Barker, PhD
Dean, Purdue University College of Pharmacy

Keith Binion BS, CPhT
Pharmacy Technician Program Director, Henry Ford College

National Associations

Lisa Schwartz, PharmD
Senior Director of Professional Affairs, National Community Pharmacists Association



Ashlee Mattingly, PharmD, BCPS
Consumer Safety Officer, U.S. Food and Drug Administration


State Pharmacy Associations

Shaun Flynn
Executive Director, New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists

Emily Zadvorny, PharmD, BCPS
Executive Director, Colorado Pharmacists Society


Ryann Abrams, PharmD
Pharmacy Recruiter and Director of Pharmacy Technician Training Program, Rite-Aid

Michelle Garvin, CPhT
Owner, Westerdrug Inc.

Amber Lucas, PharmD, BCPS
Pharmacy Operations Manager, Olathe Medical Center

Scott McAuley, RPh, MS
Executive Director of Pharmacy, Piedmont Healthcare